Saturday, October 23, 2010

They're Going Crazy in Arlington

For the first time in their history it's on to the World Series.....

Yankees 1
Rangers 6

And the Yankees are going home for the winter. (May it be the end of the dynasty? I can hope, can't I, that the Yankees become just another AL team?)

But for now, it's on to the World Series for the Texas Rangers.

The [Rangers] franchise originated in 1961 as the Washington Senators, an expansion team awarded to Washington, D.C. after the city's first American League team, the original Washington Senators, relocated to Minnesota and became the Twins. After the 1971 season, the Senators were moved to Arlington, Texas and became the Rangers the following year.

The Rangers are one of three Major League franchises to have never [before] played in a World Series, along with the Seattle Mariners (established in 1977) and the Washington Nationals (established in 1969 as the Montreal Expos). The Senators/Rangers franchise is the oldest team in any of the major North American professional leagues that has never won a league championship, although the Chicago Cubs, Cleveland Indians and San Francisco Giants won their most recent respective World Series prior to the founding of the Senators/Rangers franchise. The Rangers won their first post season series in 2010 against the Tampa Bay Rays.

No comments: